SAO Credits

We gratefully acknowledge the advice and support of past and ongoing Course Advisory Committee members, including:

  • Prof. Anne Green, School of Physics, University of Sydney (Chair)
  • Prof Lisa Kewley, Research School for Astronomy & Astrophysics, ANU.
  • Dr John Reynolds, Parkes Observatory, Australia Telescope National Facility
  • Prof John Lattanzio, School of Mathematical Sciences, Monash University
  • A/Prof Melanie Johnston-Hollitt, School of Chemical and Physical Sciences, Victoria University of Wellington

We acknowledge the use of images and multimedia simulations from Hubble Space Telescope (STScI) and NASA for educational purposes, and special permission to use spectacular astronomical images from the collections of Dr David Malin (Anglo-Australian Observatory) and Prof Michael Bessell (Mount Stromlo and Siding Springs Observatories).

The development of the instructional design, multimedia course content and astronomical content & applications in Swinburne Astronomy Online is supported by the Swinburne Centre for Astrophysics & Supercomputing and the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology, Swinburne University of Technology, and Open Universities Australia

Macromedia Flash, Director and Bryce 3D multimedia development support was provided by the Swinburne Multimedia Production and Training Unit, and support with course delivery and newsgroup communications is being provided by Swinburne Learning & Teaching Services.

Extra computing support has been provided by Jon Booth, Russell Edwards, Geoff Mazzolini, Colin Love, Rebecca Welsh, Leigh Dyer, Craig West, Willem van Straten, Andrew Jameson, Alfred Lagos, Nick Jones and John Newbigin.

Image credits:

Images used on the SAO website include:

  • the Helix nebula [credit: NASA, NOAO, ESA, the Hubble Helix Nebula Team, M. Meixner (STScI), and T.A. Rector (NRAO)];
  • Messier 51 [credit: NASA, ESA, S. Beckwith (STScI), and The Hubble Heritage Team (STScI/AURA)];
  • Saturn [credit: NASA/JPL/Space Science Institute];
  • SNR 0509-67.5 [science credit: NASA, ESA, and B. Schaefer and A. Pagnotta (Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge); image credit: NASA, ESA, CXC, SAO, the Hubble Heritage Team (STScI/AURA), and J. Hughes (Rutgers University)];
  • Messier 80/NGC 6093 [credit: The Hubble Heritage Team (AURA/ STScI/ NASA)];
  • The Sun [courtesy of SOHO/EIT consortium. SOHO is a project of international cooperation between ESA and NASA.].


  • the starburst galaxy M82 [credit: NASA, ESA, and The Hubble Heritage Team (STScI/AURA) and J. Gallagher (U. Wisconsin), M. Mountain (STScI), and P. Puxley (NSF)];
  • the Crab nebula [credit: NASA/CXC/ASU/HST and J. Hester et al.];
  • the nucleus of galaxy Centaurus A [credit: E.J. Schreier (STScI) and NASA];
  • spiral galaxy NGC 4603 [credit: Jeffrey Newman (UC Berkeley) and NASA];
  • and the Carina nebula [credit: NASA, ESA, NOAO/AURA/NSF, N. Smith (UC Berkeley), and The Hubble Heritage Team (STScI/AURA)].
facebook twitter