Follow us on #HIgas2014 via #HIgas2014

Image credits

15-19 September 2014
Kuching, Malaysia (Borneo)

As the most abundant element in the Universe, hydrogen is an ubiquitous tracer of structures at various scales and plays a fundamental role in galaxy formation. Accretion of hydrogen from the intergalactic medium (IGM) feeds galaxies with the raw material necessary for the formation of stars. Environmental effects and complex internal mechanisms, such as supernovae or AGN feedback, affect the evolution cycle of hydrogen and consequently the physical properties and appearance of galaxies. Observations of hydrogen in its various forms (atomic, ionised or molecular), along with refined models and simulations, are essential to better assess the role of hydrogen in the formation and evolution of galaxies. This conference will bring together observers and theorists to review our current understanding in the field, and discuss the main science questions that can be addressed in the pre-SKA era.

The scientific topics covered at this conference will include:

Confirmed Invited Speakers
Kenji Bekki (UWA)
Aeree Chung (Yonsei)
Romeel Davé (Western Cape)
Roberto Decarli (MPIA)
Filippo Fraternali (Bologna)
Simon Glover (Heidelberg)
Claudia Lagos (ESO)
Naomi McClure-Griffiths (ATNF)
Sharon Meidt (MPIA)
D.J. Pisano (West Virginia)
Alireza Rahmati (MPA, Garching)
Emma Ryan-Weber (Swinburne)
Karin Sandstrom (Arizona)
Jessica Werk (Santa Cruz)

Scientific Organizing Committee
Virginia Kilborn (Swinburne), chair, executive
Barbara Catinella (Swinburne), executive
Luca Cortese (Swinburne), executive
Danny Dale (Wyoming)
Romeel Davé (Western Cape)
Loretta Dunne (Canterbury, NZ)
Thibault Garel (Swinburne), executive
Desika Narayanan (Haverford)
Chris Power (ICRAR)
Mary Putman (Columbia)
Jessica Werk (Santa Cruz)
Martin Zwaan (ESO)

Local Organizing Committee
Thibault Garel (Swinburne), chair
Toby Brown (Swinburne)
Barbara Catinella (Swinburne)
Luca Cortese (Swinburne)
Helga Dénes (Swinburne)
Virginia Kilborn (Swinburne)
Katharina Lutz (Swinburne)
Elizabeth Thackray (Swinburne)
Dennis Wong (Swinburne-Sarawak)

Contact us at

Swinburne University of Technology     

Designed and maintained by B. Catinella. Last update: Jul 18 2014