The membership of CASAC is:

  • Prof. Anne Green FTSE FASA FAIP (University of Sydney), Chair. Emeritus Professor of Astrophysics
  • Mr Wayne Fitzsimmons AM, ICT Entrepeneur
  • Prof. Richard Ellis FRS FAA (University College London), Professor of Astrophysics
  • Dr Ilana Feain, Commercialisation Specialist, CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science
  • Dr Dong Wang Wu FTSE, Chief Aerospace Division, Defence Science and Technology (VIC)
  • Mr Rajiv Cabraal, Legal, Governance And IP Director, CSIRO Data61

The following Swinburne people are also ex officio members:

  • Prof. Aleks Subic, Deputy Vice Chancellor R&D
  • Prof. Karl Glazebrook FAA, Director CAS, Distinguished Professor

Member Biographies

Professor Anne Green FTSE FASA FAIP (Chair)

Anne Green is Emeritus Professor at the University of Sydney. Her research career spans 30 years in radio astronomy, studying the structure and ecology of the Milky Way Galaxy. She is a graduate from both Melbourne and Sydney Universities and was an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow. Following a 15-year career hiatus, she joined Sydney University where she was Director of the Molonglo Telescope, the first female Head of the School of Physics and is now President of the Physics Foundation. Previously, she was President of the Astronomical Society of Australia, Chair of Astronomy Australia Ltd and inaugural co-Chair of the Women in Astronomy Working Group of the International Astronomical Union. She is a Fellow of the Academy of Technology & Engineering, the Australian Institute of Physics and the Astronomical Society of Australia, who recently established the Anne Green Prize for mid-career scientific achievement.      

Professor Richard Ellis FRS FAA

Professor Richard Ellis is the Professor of Astrophysics at University College, London and has been there since 2015. Prior to that he was at the California Institute of Technology from 1999 and was Steele Professor of Astronomy for 13 years. Simultaneous appointments include the position of Senior Scientist at the European Southern Observatory in Germany and as a Royal Society Research Professor at Oxford University. He has received numerous prizes including the Carl Sagan Memorial Award in 2018 and the Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society in 2011. He has published 600 scientific articles and five popular and five scholarly books. He is the Principal Investigator on many major grants in astrophysics in Europe and the USA and has supervised 30 completed PhDs.

Ilana Feain

Dr Ilana Feain

Dr Ilana Feain (PhD Astrophysics) is an Astrophysicist and Medtech Entrepeneur. Dr Feain currently works for CSIRO Astronomy and Space Sciences as their commercialisation specialist focusing on the development of commercialisation opportunities from within their Technologies for Radio Astronomy group. Her interests and expertise are in developing radio astronomy technology solutions for adjacent markets and she is currently focused on opportunities that build Australia’s embryonic space industry.

Dr Dong Yang Wu

Dr Dong Yang Wu is a leader in the translation of innovative research outcomes into high-impact applications. She is globally recognised by industry, academia and government for her research in materials science, manufacturing and sustainability and her visionary leadership in developing and commercialising innovative research into high impact applications. Her achievements have been recognised through numerous awards, including her selection to the prestigious Boeing Technical Fellowship. In her current appointment as Chief of Aerospace Division at Defence Science and Technology, she leads national and international research efforts to deliver game-changing aerospace capabilities.

Mr Rajiv Cabraal

Rajiv Cabraal is the legal and governance director at the nation’s artificial intelligence and machine learning hub, CSIRO’s Data61. Data61 is the largest data innovation group in Australia, with world class capability in information and communications technology, computer science and statistics. Rajiv has over 17 years of experience in the legal sector and also extensive experience in relation to licensing and spin-outs, complex collaborations, joint ventures, alliances, and the establishment of major research centres and infrastructure. He has a Bachelor of Applied Science, a Bachelor of Laws, and a Master of Laws from the Queensland University of Technology

Mr Kenneth (Wayne) Fitzsimmons AM

Wayne is a renowned expert in the field of ICT and its application in industry and has had a highly successful career in this field over many decades. He currently works to support young ICT based start-up companies to innovate and develop ICT and related technology for commercial ends. He is the National Chairman of the Pearcey Foundation. In 2017 he was awarded an AM for services to information technology. He has been highly influential in promoting the importance and growth of the ICT industry in Australia and in advocating for ICT skills in educational and vocational training.

Prof Aleksander Subic

Professor Aleksandar Subic is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Development) at Swinburne University of Technology. Prior to this he was the Dean of Engineering and the Head of School of Aerospace, Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering at RMIT University. He is internationally recognised for his research in engineering design and advanced manufacturing, having led numerous global R&D projects in collaboration with industry. Professor Subic has held numerous high level positions in government and industry. He is an honorary Professor of Tsinghua University, Tianjin University and Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and a Fellow of the Institute of Engineers Australia (IEAust), Fellow of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) and Fellow of the International Energy Federation (IEF).

Professor Karl Glazebrook

Professor Karl Glazebrook is a Distinguished Professor of Astrophysics at Swinburne University of Technology and has been there since 2006. He has been the Director of the Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing since 2014. Prior to that he was a Professor of Astronomy at Johns Hopkins University from 2000 to 2006. He known for his work on galaxy formation and evolution, for playing a key role in developing the “nod and shuffle” observing technique and for originating the Perl Data Language. (PDL). Professor Glazebrook received the Muhlmann Award from the Astronomical Society of the Pacific in 2008 for his work on astronomical instrumentation. He was elected to the Australian Academy of Science for his research accomplishments in 2017 and has been a member of the Australian Research Council College of Experts and was awarded an Australian Research Council Laureate Fellowship in 2018.